Place of Mine

Admittedly, this is my favorite among the ‘new songs’ on the album. I love its warm, electric guitar beginning. I love how the piano comes in on the first chorus. I love the drum beat. I love the harmonies. And then there are the words.

“Place of Mine” is a song about living life as a journey and not as a means to an end. It’s important to have goals in life — things that we set our eyes on and pursue with determination until we’ve reached them. But if we pursue those destinations with such blind fervor that we fail to enjoy the journey that gets us there, then we’ve failed to live.

In my case, I’m still not sure what my desired destination even is. There isn’t one job I want above all others or one city I want to live in above all others. Perhaps that will take shape in the next few years, but for now, I’m at a point where I’m pretty clueless as to where I’ll be 10 or 20 years from now. All I could tell you is that I’ll probably still be in Milwaukee and I hope to have a handful of kids and a nice house. I think that would make me the happiest person in the world, actually.

But I still do wonder about my place in life and what it is I’m destined to do and who it is I’m destined to be. “Place of Mine” talks about this point in my life. The song is me wondering aloud about where my life is going and coming to the realization that the path I’m supposed to take has no known ending. This “place of mine” that I’m searching for is still a mystery to me, but I’m now convinced that the path I’m on (going to Marquette University … working for the Milwaukee Bucks … meeting my wife, Katie … getting my MBA … moving to Germany for a year …) is all part of the plan and I’d be a fool if I spent more time worrying about the destination and less time enjoying the journey and all of experiences along the way.

Life is an amazing gift. And so much can happen and change with one year — months, even. “Place of Mine” is a reminder to me and a call to everyone else to take life in those small increments. Enjoy the present. Wonder about the future, but don’t be so consumed about where you want to be that you forget to enjoy where you are.

Lyrics to “Place of Mine”

A summer night.
I’m standing here. A starry night.
And searching for a satellite
To help me find my way.
Suddenly
A path appears in front of me
I know that this was meant to be
And now I’m on my way.
I’ll go and find this place of mine
Even though I cannot see the ending.

Now’s the time
To open our hearts and to see
Our lives are drawn by the places we seek
In this world, the journey defines who we are.

Another day
I might have gone another way
In search of something. Not today.
The path’s in front of me.
Maybe I
Was meant to find a starry night
To help me see with open eyes
This is my destiny.
So I’ll go and find this place of mine
And I hope to see amazing.

Now’s the time
To open our hearts and to see
Our lives are drawn by the places we seek
In this world, the journey defines who we are.

Chances come to greet us every morning.
Chances come to greet us in our sleep.
Chance is all around us.
A chance is all we need to find
The way to the places that we seek.

Now’s the time
To open my hearts and to see
My life is drawn by the places I seek.
In this world, the journey defines who I am.

Now’s the time
To open our hearts and to see
Our lives are drawn by the places we seek
In this world, the journey defines who we are.
Who we are.
Who we are.

“Place of Mine” is a song off of Matt’s newest album, “It’s Time,” a collection of 11 original songs released in January, 2013. For more information on how to purchase, please visit www.mattwesselmusic.com.

Leave a Reply

